Yes, it’s true: your medications can be the cause of your constipation

You’ve been feeling constipated and can’t seem to find an obvious reason for the blockage. Look over your medication list, and you may find the source. Constipation has many causes, but medications are among the most common. Medications can affect the central nervous system and muscle function in the bowel, while others affect water absorption in your stools. In fact, constipation is a leading side effect of both prescription and over-the-counter drugs.

Jump to a section

Icona dell'orologio

10 min read


Why is my medication causing my constipation ?

It can be frustrating when you feel the urge to get relief but can't seem to go. If you’ve reviewed your diet, lifestyle, stress levels, and you still can’t seem to find the root cause of your constipation, consider whether medication side effects are causing your symptoms. It’s important to talk to your doctor or pharmacist if you think your constipation may be related to medication. Don’t stop taking your medication without first seeking the advice of a healthcare professional.

Antidepressants

A lot of antidepressants that treat the nerve endings in the brain also affect nerve endings in the gut. That can lead to significant side effects, which can include constipation. 

Opioids

The narcotic effect of strong pain medication, such as opioids, can cause the nerves in the gut to slow down tremendously, inhibiting bowel movement which leads to constipation.  

Calcium-channel blockers

You may recognize this medication type if you suffer from high blood pressure. Their objective is to relax the muscles in blood vessels to lower blood pressure – but, one of their side effects is that they can also relax the muscles in the gut and may cause constipation

Anticholinergics (for urinary incontinence)

These medications block the effects of acetylcholine, a chemical that helps the muscles move. By blocking the action of that chemical, less movement in the muscles also includes the muscle that are in the gut – which can lead to constipation.

What medication can cause constipation ?

Here are the most common culprits:

Tips and tricks to get relief

You may be on a specific medication that is causing your constipation – and if that is the case, it doesn’t make you helpless. With the help of your doctor, you can act on it and work together to prevent future bouts of constipation. 

Dulcolax® family of products

Occasional constipation is a common condition with a wide range of possible causes. We know how unpredictable and frustrating constipation can be, so we are here to help identify the possible causes and teach you how to address them.


Stay informed

Occasional constipation is a common condition with a wide range of possible causes. We know how unpredictable and frustrating constipation can be, so we are here to help identify the possible causes and teach you how to address them.

Oui, c’est vrai  : vos médicaments peuvent être à l’origine de votre constipation

Vous vous sentez constipé et n’arrivez pas à trouver de raison évidente pouvant expliquer ce blocage ? Jetez un œil à votre liste de médicaments, et vous trouverez peut-être la source. La constipation a de nombreuses causes, mais les médicaments comptent parmi les plus courantes. Les médicaments peuvent affecter le système nerveux central et la fonction musculaire de l’intestin, alors que d’autres affectent l’absorption de l’eau dans les selles. En fait, la constipation est un des principaux effets secondaires des médicaments sur ordonnance et en vente libre.

Passez à une section :

Icona dell'orologio

Lecture de 10 minutes


Pourquoi mes médicaments me constipent-ils ?

Il peut être frustrant d’avoir envie d’aller à la selle, mais de ne pas en être capable. Si vous avez revu votre alimentation, votre mode de vie, votre niveau de stress, et que vous n’arrivez toujours pas à trouver la cause de votre constipation, demandez-vous si les effets secondaires de vos médicaments ne seraient pas à l’origine de vos symptômes.

Antidépresseurs

Beaucoup d’antidépresseurs qui traitent les terminaisons nerveuses du cerveau affectent aussi les terminaisons nerveuses du tube digestif. Cela peut donner lieu à des effets secondaires importants, comme la constipation.

Opioïdes

L’effet narcotique des analgésiques puissants, tels que les opioïdes, peut causer un ralentissement considérable des nerfs du tube digestif, inhibant le transit.

Inhibiteurs des canaux calciques

Il se peut que ce médicament vous dise quelque chose si vous souffrez d’hypertension. Leur but est de relaxer les muscles des vaisseaux sanguins afin d’abaisser la tension artérielle, mais l’un de leurs effets secondaires est qu’ils peuvent aussi relaxer les muscles du tube digestif et causer la constipation.

Anticholinergiques (pour l’incontinence urinaire ou les allergies)

Ces médicaments bloquent les effets de l’acétylcholine, une substance chimique qui aide les muscles à bouger. La diminution du mouvement dans les muscles concerne aussi le muscle qu’est le tube digestif, ce qui peut mener à la constipation.

Quels médicaments causent la constipation ?

Voici les principaux coupables  :

Conseils et astuces pour obtenir un soulagement

Vous prenez peut-être un médicament particulier qui est responsable de votre constipation, si tel est le cas, des solutions s’offrent à vous. Avec l’aide de votre médecin, vous pouvez remédier à la situation et travailler ensemble pour prévenir l’apparition de symptômes futurs.

Famille de produits DulcolaxMD

Les produits DulcolaxMD stimulent le transit intestinal avec des solutions de soulagement en douceur dès le lendemain ou des solutions de soulagement rapide. Trouvez le produit DulcolaxMD qui vous convient.


Tenez-vous au courant

La constipation occasionnelle est un problème courant dont les causes possibles sont nombreuses. Nous savons à quel point les symptômes de la constipation peuvent être imprévisibles et frustrants. Nous vous aidons donc à cerner les causes possibles et les moyens de les prévenir.