Constipation is a common condition with a wide range of possible causes

WHY AM I CONSTIPATED ?

Bouts of constipation are often unpredictable, so it’s hard to anticipate them.

DIET

One of the biggest causes of constipation is not getting enough fibre, which moves things along in your bowels. You can get more fibre by eating fruit, vegetables, pulses (lentils, beans, chickpeas) and whole grains. Because fibre absorbs water in your gut, be sure to increase your fluid intake as well. But do it gradually. Too much fibre too soon can cause constipation, along with gas and bloating.

Exercice

EXERCISE

Being inactive is also a constipation culprit. That’s because physical activity stimulates your bowel muscles, giving you the urge to go to the bathroom more frequently. Bottom line? Getting moving can get your bowels moving. Aim for 30 minutes of exercice three days a week or more.

STRESS

Stress—both temporary and long-term—can have a huge effect on bowel function. Money worries, relationship problems or going through a big change in life can all affect your digestive system, leading to bouts of constipation.

Too much stress and anxiety are also linked to Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS). If you experience stomach pains or cramping and bloating alongside your constipation, it may be IBS.

Toilet

STAYING REGULAR OUTSIDE OF HOME AND WHEN TRAVELLING

Our bodies are creatures of habit, so a change in your normal daily routine can affect your bowel movements. For example, worrying about using the toilet on a plane, or a long car journey can leave you constipated, as can eating different types of foods or becoming dehydrated when abroad.

Causes of constipation - hormones

HORMONES

Fluctuating hormones before the menstrual cycle can also trigger constipation. Try upping your fibre and fluids beforehand to help avoid it.

Causes of constipation - pregnancy

PREGNANCY

The pregnancy hormone, progesterone, relaxes your muscles to make room for a growing baby—but it also slows down the muscles that push food and waste along. Taking iron supplements, as many women do during pregnancy, can cause constipation as well.

Speak to your doctor before taking any treatments if you’re pregnant or breastfeeding.

See more information here

Causes of constipation - menopause

MENOPAUSE

Hormonal changes during menopause, and the years that lead up to it, can bring on constipation.

Getting older

GETTING OLDER

As you get older, the muscles in your digestive tract slow down, which means food takes longer to pass through your system. Not getting the same amount of exercise as you used to, or taking certain medicines can also cause constipation in older people.

Medication

MEDICATION

Constipation can be a side effect of some drugs, including:

  • Codeine-based painkillers
  • Antacids used to treat indigestion (particularly if they contain aluminum)
  • Iron tablets taken for anemia
  • Some types of blood pressure medication
  • Anti-epilepsy medications
  • Medicines used to treat Parkinson's disease

Learn more here

Doctor's warning

Talk to your pharmacist or doctor if you're having problems with constipation after starting any new medication. Never make changes to your prescribed medication without consulting a healthcare professional first.

La constipation est un trouble courant aux causes très nombreuses

POURQUOI EST-CE QUE JE SOUFFRE DE CONSTIPATION?

Les épisodes de constipation sont souvent imprévisibles et il est donc difficile de les voir venir. Dans les témoignages qui suivent, découvrez comment la constipation touche d’autres personnes.

ALIMENTATION

L’une des causes les plus fréquentes de la constipation est la consommation insuffisante de fibres, qui permettent d’avoir un bon transit intestinal. Vous pouvez augmenter votre apport en fibres en mangeant des fruits, des légumes, des légumineuses (lentilles, haricots secs, pois chiches) et des grains entiers. Puisque les fibres absorbent l’eau dans votre système digestif, assurez-vous également de boire une plus grande quantité de liquide. Mais faites-le graduellement. L’augmentation trop rapide de la consommation de fibres peut causer de la constipation, ainsi que des flatulences et des ballonnements.

Exercice

EXERCICE

L’inactivité physique peut également être une cause de la constipation. En effet, l’activité physique stimule les muscles de l’intestin, vous donnant ainsi envie d’aller aux toilettes plus souvent. L’essentiel à retenir? Le fait de bouger fera bouger vos intestins. Visez au moins 30 minutes trois fois par semaine.

STRESS

Le stress, à court ou à long terme, a une énorme incidence sur le fonctionnement des intestins. Les soucis d’argent, les problèmes de couple ou encore les grands changements dans la vie peuvent tous affecter votre système digestif et causer des épisodes de constipation.

Un niveau trop élevé de stress et d’anxiété est aussi associé au syndrome du côlon irritable. Si vous éprouvez des douleurs à l’estomac, ou des crampes et des ballonnements, en plus d’un problème de constipation, il pourrait bien s’agir du syndrome du côlon irritable.

Toilet

COMMENT GARDER UN TRANSIT RÉGULIER À L’EXTÉRIEUR DE CHEZ SOI ET EN VOYAGE

Notre corps aime la routine, et tout changement apporté à notre quotidien peut donc affecter le fonctionnement de nos intestins. Par exemple, la perspective de devoir aller aux toilettes en avion ou pendant un long voyage en voiture peut causer de la constipation. Cela vaut également pour les fois où vous mangez divers types d’aliments et que vous souffrez de déshydratation lorsque vous êtes à l’étranger.

Causes of constipation - hormones

HORMONES

Les fluctuations hormonales précédant les règles peuvent également entraîner de la constipation. Veillez à consommer plus de fibres et de liquide au préalable pour éviter que cela se produise.

Causes of constipation - pregnancy

GROSSESSE

L’hormone de grossesse, la progestérone, détend les muscles afin de créer de l’espace pour le bébé à naître, mais elle ralentit également le fonctionnement des muscles qui font descendre les aliments et les déchets. Les suppléments de fer que prennent un grand nombre de femmes pendant la grossesse peuvent aussi entraîner des troubles de constipation.

Consultez votre médecin avant de suivre tout traitement si vous êtes enceinte ou si vous allaitez.

Davantage d'informations à ce sujet ici

Causes of constipation - menopause

MÉNOPAUSE

Les changements hormonaux liés à la ménopause et à la préménopause peuvent entraîner la constipation.

Getting older

VIEILLISSEMENT

Au fil des ans, les muscles du tube digestif s’affaiblissent, de sorte que les aliments mettent plus de temps à passer à travers votre système. Le manque d’exercice physique et la prise de certains médicaments peuvent aussi conduire à la constipation chez les personnes âgées.

Medication

MÉDICAMENTS

La constipation peut être un effet secondaire de certains médicaments, dont :

  • Analgésiques à base de codéine
  • Antiacides employés pour traiter une indigestion

(surtout s’ils contiennent de l’aluminium)

  • Suppléments de fer contre l’anémie
  • Certains types de médicaments contre la tension artérielle
  • Traitements contre l’épilepsie
  • Médicaments servant à traiter la maladie de Parkinson

En savoir plus

Doctor's warning

Consultez votre pharmacien ou votre médecin si vous souffrez de constipation après avoir commencé à prendre un nouveau médicament. Consultez toujours un professionnel de la santé avant d’effectuer des changements dans la prise d’un médicament sous ordonnance.