Dulcolax® Tablets

  • Occasional constipation
  • Overnight relief in 6 to 12 hours
  • Tablets
  • 6+ years old
  • Gentle relief
  • Effective relief
  • 10ct
  • 30ct
  • 60ct
  • 100ct

Dulcolax® Tablets are stimulant laxatives suitable for the relief of occasional constipation. They are available in a 10, 30, 60 or 100 count pack, with each tablet containing 5 mg of the active ingredient Bisacodyl. Bisacodyl has a 2-in-1 mechanism of action that stimulates bowel muscles and hydrates by accumulating water in the intestine to soften stool and help you go. By stimulating bowel movements, Dulcolax® Tablets help you go, providing much needed relief.


Overnight relief


Gentle relief


Suitable for children 6 years+

Dulcolax® Tablets benefits

Occasional constipation relief in 6 to 12 hours


Provides overnight relief in a predictable time frame.

Relieves occasional constipation


Softens your stool and stimulates gut muscles to ease evacuation

Works with your body


Just one tablet overnight can provide you with relief in the morning.

Coated tablets provide targeted relief

The stomach acid-resistant coating delivers the active ingredient to the colon, where it is needed most.

Use and dosage

Dulcolax® Tablets should be taken at night to have a bowel movement the next morning. It is recommended to start with the lowest dose (1 tablet) and for Dulcolax® Tablets to be taken with a glass of water (swallowed, not chewed). Dulcolax® Tablets should not be taken with foods or medications that reduce the acidity of the upper gastrointestinal tract such as milk, antacids (e.g. Tums® or Rolaids®).

Children 6 - 12 years:

  • 1 tablet per day

Adults and children over 12 years:

  • 1 to 2 tablets per day

Suitable for breastfeeding women:

  • 1 to 2 tablets per day
  • Please consult your healthcare professional before taking Dulcolax® Tablets

What is in the product ?

5mg of Bisacodyl

Dulcolax®Tablets are there for you when you need predictable, dependable relief from occasional constipation. Bisacodyl, the active ingredient, acts to stimulate the bowel and helps retain water in the intestines, softening stools so they pass more quickly. The coated tablets are designed to ensure the active ingredient is released right where it is needed the most. When taken at night, Dulcolax® Tablets will provide relief the next morning within 6 to 12 hours.

How does it work ?

Once you've swallowed the tablet(s), the active ingredient, Bisacodyl, will accelerate bowel movement through the colon with its dual action: stimulating the bowel muscles and rehydrating by accumulating water in the intestine to soften stool. This combined action allows stools to pass more easily.

The tablets have a gastro-resistant coating designed to ensure that the active ingredient is released where it's needed most: into the colon.

Frequently asked questions

Let’s talk about occasional constipation

    Dulcolax® Tablets is a stimulant laxative that when taken at night will provide relief in 6 to 12 hours. They provide dependable, effective occasional constipation relief for adults and children 6 years and above. They stimulate bowel movements to help you get relief when you need it.

    Dulcolax® Tablets each contain 5mg of Bisacodyl and can be taken by adults and children over 6 years old. They are also suitable for breastfeeding women.

    This medication should not be taken on a continuous daily basis or for extended periods without seeking the recommendation of a healthcare professional. Prolonged excessive use may lead to fluid and electrolyte loss and potassium deficiency. Like all laxatives, Dulcolax® should be used for no more than 7 days. For a longer use, please consult your doctor or pharmacist.

    The tablet should be taken (swallowed and not chewed) in the evening before going to bed for an overnight effect, with relief in the morning. Dulcolax tablets should not be taken within two hours of another medication because the desired effect of the other medication may be reduced.

    Take Dulcolax® Tablets at night to have a bowel movement the next morning. It's recommended to start with the lowest dose (1 tablet) and to be taken with a glass of water (swallowed not chewed). It should not be taken together with products which reduce the acidity of the upper gastrointestinal tract, such as milk or antacids.

    The recommended fose for adults 12 years and older, including breastfeeding women is 1-2 tablets per day. Children 6 to 12 years of age is 1 tablet per day.

    It is recommended to start with the lowest dose (1 tablet). The dose may be adjusted up to a maximum single dose of 2 tablets to produce regular stools. The maximum daily dose of 2 tablets should not be exceeded.

    The main difference between the two products is the onset of action. When taking Dulcolax® suppositories, you can expect relief from your occasional constipation within 15 to 60 minutes. With Dulcolax® Tablets, the laxative is meant to be taken at night, for overnight relief. Once swallowed, you can expect relief in 6 to 12 hours.

    Clinical data shows that bisacodyl is not excreted into the milk of breastfeeding women, making Dulcolax® Tablets safe to use while breastfeeding.

    Dulcolax®, like any medication, may cause side effects. Tell your doctor if any of these symptoms are severe or persist: abdominal discomfort (including abdominal cramps, abdominal pain, nausea, vomiting or diarrhea), dehydration (with symptoms such as dry, sticky mouth, thirst), dizziness, fainting (syncope), swelling of the colon(large bowel), anorectal discomfort (discomfort involving the anus and rectum), and haematochezia (blood in stools). If you have any of the following symptoms such as allergic reactions (including swelling of the face, lips, mouth, tongue or throat which may cause difficulty in swallowing or breathing), stop taking Dulcolax® Tablets and contact your doctor immediately.

    This may not be a complete list of side effects. For any unexpected effects while taking Dulcolax Tablets, contact your doctor or pharmacist.

    Dulcolax® Tablets should not be used:

    • If you have severe abdominal pain associated with nausea and vomiting.
    • If you have intestinal obstruction (ileus), acute inflammatory bowel disease, or appendicitis.
    • If you are suffering from severe dehydration.
    • If you are allergic to the drug or any component of it.
    • If you have a rare hereditary condition of galactose or fructose intolerance.

    Before you use Dulcolax®  talk to your doctor or pharmacist:

    • If you have ever had an allergic reaction to this or any other medicines
    • If you have any pain in the lower abdomen or if you have stomach cramps, fever, nausea or vomiting
    • If you are pregnant
    • If you have taken Dulcolax® or another laxative already for a week without any effect
    • If you are taking any other medications, including those available without a prescription, herbal and complementary medicines

    Do not take Dulcolax® Tablets for weight loss.

    Do not give Dulcolax® Tablets to a child under 6 years old unless directed by a healthcare professional.

Dulcolax® family of products

Dulcolax® products help your bowels get going with gentle overnight or fast relief solutions. Find the Dulcolax® product that’s right for you.

Stay informed

Occasionnal constipation is a common condition with a wide range of possible causes. We know how unpredictable and frustrating constipation can be, so we are here to help identify the possible causes and teach you how to addres them.

Comprimés DulcolaxMD

  • Constipation occasionnelle
  • Soulagement dès le lendemain, en 6 à 12 heures
  • Comprimés
  • 6 ans et plus
  • Soulagement prévisible
  • Soulagement efficace
  • 10UN
  • 30UN
  • 60UN
  • 100UN

Les comprimés DulcolaxMD sont des laxatifs stimulants convenables pour le soulagement de la constipation occasionnelle. Ils sont offerts dans un emballage de 10, 30, 60 ou 100 unités, chaque comprimé contenant 5 mg de l’ingrédient actif bisacodyl. Le bisacodyl a un mécanisme d’action 2 en 1 qui stimule les muscles intestinaux et procure une action hydratante en créant une accumulation d’eau dans l’intestin afin de ramollir les selles et de vous aider à éliminer. En stimulant le transit intestinal, les comprimés DulcolaxMD facilitent l’évacuation des selles afin de procurer le soulagement dont vous avez grand besoin.


Soulagement dès le lendemain


Soulagement en douceur


Pour enfants de 6 ans et plus

Avantages des comprimés DulcolaxMD

Soulagement de la constipation occasionnelle en 6 à 12 heures

Procure un soulagement dès le lendemain, dans un délai prévisible.

Soulage la
constipation
occasionnelle


Ramollit lees selles et stimule les muscles intestinaux afin de faciliter l’évacuation.

Travaille de
concert avec
votre corps


Un seul comprimé à l’heure du coucher peut vous soulager le matin venu. 

Les comprimés enrobés procurent un soulagement ciblé


L’enrobage résistant aux acides stomacaux libère l’ingrédient actif directement dans le côlon, là où il est principalement nécessaire.

Mode d’emploi et posologie

Les comprimés DulcolaxMD devraient être pris le soir afin de vous permettre d’aller à la selle le lendemain matin. Il est recommandé de commencer par la plus faible dose ( 1 comprimé ) et de prendre les comprimés DulcolaxMD avec un verre d’eau (en les avalant et non en les croquant). Les comprimés DulcolaxMD ne devraient pas être pris en combinaison avec des aliments ou des médicaments qui réduisent l’acidité des voies digestives supérieures, comme du lait, des antiacides (p. ex. bicarbonate, Tums ou Rolaids) ou des inhibiteurs de la pompe à protons (p. ex. Nexium, Pantoloc).

Enfants de 6 à 12 ans :

  • 1 comprimé par jour
Adultes et enfants de plus de 12 ans :
  • 1 ou 2 comprimés par jour

Convient aux femmes qui allaitent : 

  • 1 ou 2 comprimés par jour 
  • Veuillez consulter votre professionnel de la santé avant de prendre des comprimés de DulcolaxMD 

Que contient le produit ?

5 mg de bisacodyl

Les comprimés DulcolaxMD sont là pour vous lorsque vous avez besoin d’un soulagement prévisible et fiable de la constipation occasionnelle. Le bisacodyl, l’ingrédient actif, agit de façon à stimuler l’intestin et favorise la rétention d’eau dans celui-ci, ce qui ramollit les selles afin d’accélérer leur passage. Les comprimés enrobés sont conçus pour garantir la libération de l’ingrédient actif exactement là où il le faut. Pris le soir, les comprimés DulcolaxMD procureront un soulagement le lendemain matin, en l’espace de 6 à 12 heures.

Comment agit-il ?

Une fois que vous avez avalé le ou les comprimés, l’ingrédient actif, le bisacodyl, accélérera le transit des selles dans le colon grâce à sa double action :  en stimulant les muscles intestinaux et en réhydratant et ramollissant les selles au moyen d’une accumulation d’eau dans l’intestin. Cette action combinée permet une évacuation plus facile des selles. 

Les comprimés sont dotés d’un enrobage gastro-résistant conçu pour garantir la libération de l’ingrédient actif dans le côlon.

Foire aux questions

Parlons de constipation occasionnelle.

    Les comprimés DulcolaxMD sont des laxatifs stimulants qui, lorsque pris le soir, procureront un soulagement en 6 à 12 heures.  Ils procurent un soulagement pour adultes et enfants âgés de 6 ans et plus. Ils stimulent les mouvements intestinaux pour vous aider à obtenir un soulagement quand vous en avez tant besoin.

    Les comprimés DulcolaxMD contiennent 5 mg de bisacodyl et peuvent être pris par les adultes et les enfants de plus de 6 ans. Ils conviennent également aux femmes qui allaitent.

    Ce médicament ne devrait pas être pris tous les jours sur une base régulière, ni pendant des périodes prolongées sans la recommandation d’un professionnel de la santé. Un emploi prolongé ou excessif peut conduire à une perte de fluides et d’électrolytes et à une carence en potassium. Comme tous les produits laxatifs, DulcolaxMD ne devrait pas être utilisé pendant plus de sept jours. Pour une utilisation à plus long terme, veuillez consulter votre médecin ou votre pharmacien.

    Le comprimé devrait être pris (avalé et non croqué) le soir avant d’aller au lit afin de faire effet durant la nuit et de vous soulager le lendemain matin.

    Prenez les comprimés DulcolaxMD le soir afin d’aller à la selle le lendemain matin. Il est recommandé de commencer par la plus faible dose (1 comprimé) et de le prendre avec un verre d’eau (en l’avalant et non en le croquant). Il ne devrait pas être pris en combinaison avec des produits qui réduisent l’acidité des voies digestives supérieures, comme du lait, des antiacides (p. ex. des Tums ou des Rolaids) ou des inhibiteurs de la pompe à protons (tels que Nexium or Pantoloc).

    La dose recommandée pour les adultes de plus de 12 ans, y compris les femmes qui allaitent, est de 1 ou 2 comprimés par jour.  

    Il est recommandé de commencer le traitement avec la faible dose (1 comprimé). La dose peut être augmentée jusqu’à concurrence de 2 comprimés afin de produire des selles régulières. 

    Les enfants de 6 à 12 ans devraient prendre seulement un comprimé par jour.

    La différence entre les deux produits réside dans le délai d’action. Lorsque vous prenez un suppositoire DulcolaxMD, vous pouvez vous attendre à un soulagement de la constipation occasionnelle en l’espace de 15 à 60 minutes. Pour ce qui est des comprimés DulcolaxMD, le laxatif est destiné à être pris le soir, pour un soulagement dès le lendemain. Une fois le comprimé avalé, vous pouvez vous attendre à obtenir un soulagement en 6 à 12 heures.

    Les données cliniques démontrent que le bisacodyl n’est pas excrété dans le lait des femmes qui allaitent, ce qui fait que les comprimés DulcolaxMD peuvent être utilisés en toute sécurité en période d’allaitement.

    DulcolaxMD, comme tout médicament, peut entraîner des effets secondaires. Avisez votre médecin si l’un ou l’autre des symptômes suivants est grave ou persiste : inconfort abdominal (crampes abdominales, douleurs abdominales, nausées, vomissements ou diarrhée), déshydratation (accompagnée de symptômes tels qu’une bouche sèche ou poisseuse, soif), étourdissements, évanouissement (syncope), gonflement du côlon (gros intestin), inconfort anorectal (inconfort dans la région anale et rectale) et hématochézie (sang dans les selles). Si vous avez l’un ou l’autre des symptômes suivants, tels que des réactions allergiques (y compris une enflure du visage, des lèvres, de la bouche, de la langue ou de la gorge, ce qui peut causer des difficultés à avaler ou à respirer), cessez l’emploi des comprimés DulcolaxMD et communiquez avec votre médecin immédiatement.

    Les comprimés DulcolaxMD ne devraient pas être utilisés dans les cas suivants :

    Si vous souffrez de douleurs abdominales associées à des nausées et à des vomissements

    Si vous présentez une occlusion intestinale (iléus), une maladie intestinale inflammatoire aiguë ou une appendicite

    Si vous souffrez de déshydratation sévère

    Si vous êtes allergique au médicament ou à un de ses composants (voir les ingrédients non médicinaux)

    Avant de prendre DulcolaxMD, parlez à votre médecin ou à votre pharmacien :

    Si vous avez déjà eu une réaction allergique à ce médicament ou à un autre

    Si vous éprouvez de la douleur dans la partie inférieure de l’abdomen ou si vous présentez des crampes abdominales, de la fièvre, des nausées ou des vomissements

    Si vous êtes enceinte

    Si vous prenez DulcolaxMD ou un autre laxatif depuis déjà une semaine sans effet

    Si vous prenez d’autres médicaments, y compris ceux vendus sans ordonnance, des produits phytothérapeutiques et des produits de santé complémentaires
     

    Ne prenez pas les comprimés DulcolaxMD à des aux fins de perte de poids.

    Ne donnez pas de comprimés DulcolaxMD à un enfant de moins de 6 ans, sauf indication contraire d’un professionnel de la santé.

Famille de produits DulcolaxMD

Les produits DulcolaxMD aide à mettre vos intestins en action avec des solutions de soulagement en douceur dès le lendemain ou des solutions de soulagement rapide. Trouvez le produit DulcolaxMD qui vous convient.

Tenez-vous au courant

La constipation occasionnelle est un problème courant dont les causes possibles sont nombreuses. Nous savons à quel point la constipation peut être imprévisible et frustrante. Nous vous aidons donc à cerner les causes possibles et les moyens de la prévenir.