Dulcolax® Suppositories

  • Occasional constipation
  • Fast relief in 15 to 60 minutes
  • Suppositories
  • 12+ years old
  • Effective relief
  • 3ct
  • 6ct
  • 100ct

Dulcolax® Suppositories are a stimulant laxative suitable for the fast relief of occasional constipation. They are available in a 3 or 6 count pack, with each suppository containing 10 mg of Bisacodyl. Bisacodyl’s dual action effect helps stimulate bowel movement and soften stools for an effective relief.

This 2-in-1 action provides fast relief in 15 to 60 minutes - don’t let occasional constipation get in your way !


Suitable for children 12 years+


Fast relief

Dulcolax® Suppositories benefits

Constipation relief in 15 to 60 minutes

Provides fast and effective relief in a short time frame.

Improved intestinal movement

Hydrates to soften your stools and stimulates bowel muscles which makes it easier to go.

Local action where it’s needed most

Suppository format delivers the active ingredient directly into the rectum, where it is needed most.

Use and dosage

The suppository must be unwrapped from its foil covering and inserted into the rectum pointed end first. There is no need to remove it after insertion, it will dissolve and be evacuated naturally by your body.

Adults and children over 12 years old:

  • One suppository (10mg) per day

Breastfeeding women:

  • Suitable for breastfeeding women. Please consult your doctor before taking Dulcolax® Suppositories.

What is in the product ?

10mg of Bisacodyl

Dulcolax® Suppositories are there for you when you need fast, dependable relief from occasional constipation. Dulcolax® Suppositories come in a 3 or 6-count pack, with each suppository containing 10mg of Bisacodyl. Bisacodyl acts to stimulate the bowel muscles and helps retain water in the intestines which softens stools so they pass quicker. The suppositories are easy to insert and are designed to ensure the active ingredient is released right where it is needed the most for relief within 15 to 60 minutes.

How does it work ?

Once in contact with the rectum, the active ingredient, Bisacodyl, will stimulate the movement of the bowel muscles, while also accumulating water in the rectum. This combined effect works to soften the stool and stimulate the bowel movement to make your stools pass through more quickly. 

Dulcolax® Suppositories do not have to travel through your stomach and small intestine to become effective. The application directly into the rectum ensures that the active ingredient is released exactly where it is needed.

Frequently asked questions

Let’s talk about occasional constipation

    Dulcolax® Suppositories is a stimulant laxative that provides effective and fast relief for those experiencing occasional constipation. This is a product suitable for those looking for an alternative to tablets or looking for fast relief (15 to 60 minutes).

    Dulcolax® Suppositories can be taken by adults and children over 12 years old. They are also suitable for breastfeeding women.

    This medication should not be taken on a continuous daily basis or for extended periods without seeking the recommendation of a health care professional. Prolonged excessive use may lead to fluid and electrolyte loss and potassium deficiency. Laxatives should be used for no more than 7 days. For a longer use, please consult your doctor or pharmacist.

    Dulcolax® Suppositories can be taken at any time during the day, keeping in mind that the effect usually occurs within 15 to 60 minutes.

    Do not take Dulcolax Suppositories within two hours of another medication because the desired effect of the other medication may be reduced.

    Unwrap the suppository from its foil covering. Dip the tip of the suppository for a few seconds in lukewarm water to soften the exterior. Lie down on your side and raise your opposite knee to your chest. Relax the buttock just before inserting the suppository to ease insertion. Gently insert suppository, lubricated pointed end first, high into rectum so that it will not slip out. Push the flat end of the suppository sideways to make sure that part of it touches the wall of the rectum. Continue to lie down for a few minutes and hold the buttocks together to allow the suppository to dissolve in the rectum. Try to retain the suppository in the rectum as long as possible. It will dissolve and your body will eliminate it along with the stool.

    Clinical data shows that Bisacodyl is not excreted into the milk of breastfeeding women, making Dulcolax® Suppositories safe to use while breastfeeding.

    Dulcolax® Suppositories, like any medication, may cause side effects. Tell your doctor if any of the following symptoms are severe or persistent: abdominal discomfort (including abdominal cramps, abdominal pain, nausea, vomiting or diarrhea), dehydration (with symptoms such as dry or sticky mouth, thirst), dizziness, fainting (syncope), swelling of the colon (large bowel), anorectal discomfort (discomfort involving the anus and rectum)and hematochezia blood in stools). If you have any of the following symptoms such as allergic reactions (including swelling of the face, lips, mouth, tongue or throat which may cause difficulty in swallowing or breathing), stop taking Dulcolax® Suppositories and contact your doctor immediately.

    This may not be a complete list of side effects. For any unexpected effects while taking Dulcolax suppositories, contact your doctor or pharmacist

    Dulcolax® Suppositories should not be used:

    • If you have severe abdominal pain associated with nausea and vomiting.
    • If you have intestinal obstruction (ileus), acute inflammatory bowel disease, or appendicitis.
    • If you are suffering from severe dehydration.
    • If you are allergic to the drug or any component of it.

    Before you use Dulcolax® Suppositories talk to your doctor or pharmacist:

    • If you have ever had an allergic reaction to this or any other medicines
    • If you have any pain in the lower abdomen or if you have stomach cramps, fever, nausea or vomiting
    • If you are pregnant
    • If you have taken Dulcolax® Suppositories already for a week without any effect
    • If you are taking any other medications, including those available without a prescription, herbal and complementary medicines

    Do not take Dulcolax® Suppositories for weight loss.

    Do not give Dulcolax® Suppositories to a child under 12 years old unless directed by a healthcare professional.

    The main difference between the two products is the onset of action. When taking Dulcolax® suppositories, you can expect relief from your occasional constipation within 15 to 60 minutes. With Dulcolax® Tablets, the laxative is meant to be taken at night, for an overnight relief. Once swallowed, you can expect relief in 6 to 12 hours.

Dulcolax® family of products

Dulcolax® products help your digestive system get moving with gentle overnight or fast relief solutions. Find the Dulcolax® product that’s right for you.

Stay informed

Occasionnal constipation is a common condition with a wide range of possible causes. We know how unpredictable and frustrating constipation can be, so we are here to help identify the possible causes and teach you how to addres them.

Suppositoires DulcolaxMD

  • Constipation occasionnelle
  • Soulagement rapide en 15 à 60 minutes
  • Suppositoires
  • 12 ans et plus
  • Soulagement efficace
  • 3UN
  • 6UN
  • 100UN

Les suppositoires DulcolaxMD sont un laxatif stimulant convenable pour le soulagement rapide de la constipation occasionnelle. Ils sont offerts dans un emballage de 3 à 6 unités, chaque suppositoire contenant 10 mg de bisacodyl. L’effet double action du bisacodyl aide à stimuler le transit intestinal et à ramollir les selles pour un soulagement efficace.  

Cette action 2 en 1 procure un soulagement rapide en 15 à 60 minutes. Ne laissez pas la constipation occasionnelle se mettre en travers de votre chemin !

  
Convient aux enfants de plus de 12 ans 


Soulagement Rapide

Avantages des suppositoires DulcolaxMD

Soulagement de la constipation en 15 à 60 minutes

Procure un soulagement rapide et efficace

Transit intestinal amélioré

Hydrate les selles afin de les ramollir et stimule les muscles intestinaux, ce qui facilite l’élimination

Action locale où il se doit

Le suppositoire libère l’ingrédient actif directement dans le rectum, là où il est principalement nécessaire.

Mode d’emploi et posologie

Le suppositoire doit être retiré de son emballage d’aluminium et inséré dans le rectum, l’extrémité en pointe d’abord. Pas besoin de le retirer après l’insertion; il se dissoudra et sera évacué naturellement par votre corps.

Adultes et enfants de plus de 12 ans : 
  • Un suppositoire (10 mg) par jour

Femmes qui allaitent  :

  •  Peut être utilisé durant l’allaitement. Avant d’utiliser les suppositoires Dulcolax veuillez consulter votre médecin. 

Que contient le produit ?

10 mg de bisacodyl

Les suppositoires DulcolaxMD sont là pour vous lorsque vous avez besoin d’un soulagement rapide et fiable de la constipation occasionnelle. Ils sont offerts dans un emballage de 3 à 6 unités, chaque suppositoire contenant 10 mg de bisacodyl. Le bisacodyl agit de façon à stimuler les muscles intestinaux et favorise la rétention d’eau dans les intestins, ce qui ramollit les selles afin d’accélérer leur passage. Les suppositoires sont faciles à insérer et sont conçus pour garantir la libération de l’ingrédient actif exactement là où il le faut, pour un soulagement dans un délai de 15 à 60 minutes.

Comment agissent-ils ?

Une fois en contact avec le rectum, l’ingrédient actif, le bisacodyl, stimulera le mouvement des muscles intestinaux, tout en favorisant l’accumulation d’eau dans les intestins. Cet effet combiné fait en sorte de ramollir les selles et de stimuler le transit intestinal afin d’accélérer le passage des selles.  

Les suppositoires DulcolaxMD n’ont pas à transiter par l’estomac ni l’intestin grêle pour faire effet. L’application directement dans le rectum garantit la libération de l’ingrédient actif exactement là où il le faut.

Foire aux questions

Parlons de constipation occasionnelle.

    Les suppositoires DulcolaxMD sont un laxatif stimulant qui procure un soulagement efficace et rapide aux personnes souffrant de constipation occasionnelle. Il s’agit d’un produit convenant aux personnes recherchant une solution de rechange aux comprimés ou un soulagement rapide (dans un délai de 15 à 60 minutes).

    Les suppositoires DulcolaxMD peuvent être pris par les adultes et les enfants de plus de 12 ans. Ils conviennent également aux femmes qui allaitent.

    Ce médicament ne devrait pas être pris tous les jours sur une base régulière, ni pendant des périodes prolongées sans la recommandation d’un professionnel de la santé. Un emploi prolongé ou excessif peut conduire à une perte de fluides et d’électrolytes et à une carence en potassium. Les laxatifs ne devraient pas être utilisés pendant plus de sept jours. Pour une utilisation à plus long terme, veuillez consulter votre médecin ou votre pharmacien.

    Les suppositoires DulcolaxMD peuvent être pris à n’importe quel moment de la journée. Il faut toutefois garder à l’esprit que l’effet se produit habituellement dans les 15 à 60 minutes.

    Le suppositoire est destiné à un usage rectal seulement. Sortez le suppositoire de l’emballage d’aluminium et insérez-le dans le rectum par l’extrémité en pointe. Il se dissoudra et votre corps l’éliminera avec les selles.

    Les données cliniques démontrent que le bisacodyl n’est pas excrété dans le lait des femmes qui allaitent, ce qui fait que les suppositoires DulcolaxMD peuvent être utilisés en toute sécurité en période d’allaitement.

    Les suppositoires DulcolaxMD, comme tout médicament, peuvent entraîner des effets secondaires. Avisez votre médecin si l’un ou l’autre des symptômes suivants est grave ou persiste : inconfort abdominal (crampes abdominales, douleurs abdominales, nausées, vomissements ou diarrhée), déshydration (accompagnée de symptômes tels qu’une bouche sèche ou poisseuse, soif), étourdissements, évanouissement (syncope), gonflement du côlon (gros intestin), inconfort anorectal (inconfort dans la région anale et rectale) et hématochézie (sang dans les selles).  Si vous avez l’un ou l’autre des symptômes suivants, tels que des réactions allergiques (y compris une enflure du visage, des lèvres, de la bouche, de la langue ou de la gorge, ce qui peut causer des difficultés à avaler ou à respirer), cessez l’emploi des suppositoires DulcolaxMD et communiquez avec votre médecin immédiatement.

    Cette liste d’effets secondaires n’est pas complète. Si vous éprouvez des effets inattendus pendant votre traitement par les suppositoires Dulcolax, veuillez communiquer avec votre médecin ou votre pharmacien.

    Les suppositoires DulcolaxMD ne devraient pas être utilisés dans les cas suivants : 

    • Si vous souffrez de douleurs abdominales associées à des nausées et à des vomissements 
    • Si vous présentez une occlusion intestinale (iléus), une maladie intestinale inflammatoire aiguë ou une appendicite 
    • Si vous souffrez de déshydratation sévère 
    • Si vous êtes allergique au médicament ou à un de ses composants (voir les ingrédients non médicinaux) 

    Avant de prendre les suppositoires DulcolaxMD, parlez à votre médecin ou à votre pharmacien : 

    • Si vous avez déjà eu une réaction allergique à ce médicament ou à un autre 
    • Si vous éprouvez de la douleur dans la partie inférieure de l’abdomen ou si vous présentez des crampes abdominales, de la fièvre, des nausées ou des vomissements 
    • Si vous êtes enceinte 
    • Si vous prenez des suppositoires DulcolaxMD depuis déjà une semaine sans effet 
    • Si vous prenez d’autres médicaments, y compris ceux vendus sans ordonnance, des produits phytothérapeutiques et des produits de santé complémentaires 

    Ne prenez pas les suppositoires DulcolaxMD aux fins de perte de poids. 

    Ne donnez pas de suppositoires DulcolaxMD à un enfant de moins de 12 ans, sauf indication contraire d’un professionnel de la santé.

    La différence entre les deux produits réside dans le délai d’action. Lorsque vous prenez un suppositoire DulcolaxMD, vous pouvez vous attendre à un soulagement de la constipation occasionnelle en l’espace de 15 à 60 minutes. Pour ce qui est des comprimés DulcolaxMD, le laxatif est destiné à être pris le soir, pour un soulagement dès le lendemain. Une fois le comprimé avalé, vous pouvez vous attendre à obtenir un soulagement en 6 à 12 heures.

Famille de produits DulcolaxMD

Les produits DulcolaxMD stimulent le transit intestinal avec des solutions de soulagement dès le lendemain, rapidement ou en douceur. Trouvez le produit DulcolaxMD qui vous convient.

Tenez-vous au courant

La constipation occasionnelle est un problème courant dont les causes possibles sont nombreuses. Nous savons à quel point les symptômes de la constipation peuvent être imprévisibles et frustrants. Nous vous aidons donc à cerner les causes possibles et les moyens de les prévenir.